Skip To Content


City of Dayton

The City of Dayton is located along the shores of the Crow and Mississippi Rivers and is shared between Hennepin and Wright Counties. We are a progressively growing community with a population of approximately 7,262 (based on the 2020 Census). Dayton is located along the I-94 corridor and is only 20 minutes from downtown Minneapolis, and 30 minutes from downtown St. Paul.

A city of beautiful, natural resources with convenient proximity to the best of the Twin Cities’ amenities. A strong community that cultivates a genuine sense of connection and deep ties to its history and heritage. A place rich in opportunity to experience the many parks, trails, and rivers that immerse you in nature.

The city of Dayton, platted in 1855, is named for city founder, Lyman Dayton. Through his energy and finances, Lyman Dayton was instrumental in bringing the railroad into Minnesota and development of the Lake Superior and Mississippi Railroad, of which he was president until 1865.

The City of Dayton’s mission is to promote a thriving community and to provide residents with a safe and pleasant place to live while preserving our rural character, creating connections to our natural resources, and providing customer service that is efficient, fiscally responsible, and responsive.

“City of Dayton, Minnesota” │

“Dayton, Minnesota” │,_Minnesota

Trackback from your site.

Leave a Reply


About our blog

Our agents write often to give you the latest insights on owning a home or property in the local area.